Hijack Stories

Director: Oliver Schmitz
Country: South Africa, Germany, and UK
Year: 2000
Running Time: 94 min
Language: English

Hijack Stories is about Sox Morak, a young actor who is cast in the role of a gangster in a popular television series. He ventures into Soweto to research the role with Siphiwe, a childhood friend who is now a real hijacker. As he spends more and more time with the gangsters, he starts losing his sense of reality. In turn Siphiwe becomes more and more fascinated with the television world, setting the stage for a confusion of identity – leaving one wondering who is the actor and who is the gangster.

About the Director

Oliver Schmitz

Biography: Oliver Schmitz (born 1960) is a South African film director and screenwriter. His film Mapantsula was screened in the Un Certain Regard section at the 1988 Cannes Film Festival. His 2010 film Life, Above All (Le Secret de Chanda) was selected as the South African entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the 83rd Academy Awards. It made the shortlist of nominations announced in January 2011.

Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Mapantsula (1994, 2004);
Joburg Stories (1997 – Oliver Schmitz, Brian Tilley);
Hijack Stories (2002).

The Twilight Zone (1987);
Mapantsula (1988);
The People’s Poet (1988);
Fruits of Defiance (1990 – Oliver Schmitz, Brian Tilley);
Hlangani: A Short History of COSATU (1991 – Oliver Schmitz, Brian Tilley);
Getting There (1993);
Dark City (1993);
Nelson Mandela Inauguration (1994);
Rhythm and Rights (1995);
Joburg Stories (1997 – Oliver Schmitz, Brian Tilley);
The Story (1999);
Hijack Stories (2000);
Das Beste Stück (2002);
Prinzessin macht blau (2004);
Was Sie schon immer über Singles wissen wollten (2005);
Plötzlich berühmt (2005);
Paris, je t’aime – Place des Fêtes (2006);
Arme Millionäre (2006);
Allein unter Töchtern (2007);
Fleisch (2008);
Doctor’s Diary – Männer sind die beste Medizin (2008);
Türkisch für Anfänger (2006 – 2008);
Die Trickser (2009);
Allein unter Schülern (2009);
Life, Above All [Le Secret de Chanda] (2010);
Allein unter Müttern (2011);
Willkommen im Krieg (2012);
Allein unter Nachbarn (2012).