Mariana and the Moon

Director: Licinio Azevedo
Country: Mozambique
Year: 1999
Running Time: 70 min.
Language: Portuguese and English

Mariana Mpande, a traditional healer and leader in a remote Mozambican village, goes to the United States to publicize the experience of community management in natural resources that have changed the life of the region where she lives, an area rich in wildlife. Extroverted and communicative, Mariana captivates audiences of intellectuals in Washington, New York and Berkeley. Koro, the monkey, is a spirit that governs her healing activities. This spirit enters into communion with Indian spirits on a reservation in northern California, and with Hawaiian spirits in the crater of a volcano.

About the Director

Licínio Azevedo

Biography: Licínio Azevedo (born in Porto Alegre, Brazil) is an independent filmmaker and co-founder of the Mozambican film production company, Ebano Multimedia. In 1977, he was invited by filmmaker Rui Guerra to join the National Institute of Cinema (INC) in Mozambique, and soon after embarked on a prolific career as a documentary filmmaker. He has directed and produced many award-winning documentaries, which have been screened at numerous international festivals. Tchuma Tchato (1997) won a Panda Award at the Wildscreen Festival in the UK in 1998 and was chosen as a finalist at the Third International Environmental Film Festival in Pretoria in 1997. Azevedo has produced and directed several feature films. He is also a writer and his collection of stories on the Mozambican War of Independence formed the basis of Mozambique’s first full-length feature film.


Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
A Árvore dos Antepassados [The Tree of Our Forefathers] (2000);
A Guerra da Água [The Water War] (2000);
Tchuma Tchato (2000);
Mariana and the Moon [Mariana e a Lua] (2000);
Night Stop (2002);
Virgem Margarida [Virgin Margarida] (2013).

Melancholic (1986);
Marracuene (1990);
Farewell GDR (1992);
A Árvore dos Antepassados [The Tree of Our Forefathers] (1995);
A Guerra da Água [The Water War] (1996);
Tchuma Tchato (1997);
Massassane (1998);
As Pitas (1998);
Mariana and the Moon [Mariana e a Lua] (1999);
A Última Prostituta [The Last Prostitute] (1999);
A Ponte [The Bridge] (2001);
Night Stop (2002);
Mãos de Barro (2003);
Desobediência (2003);
The Demining Camp [Acampamento de Desminagem] (2005);
O Grande Bazar [The Great Bazaar] (2006);
Ricardo Rangel – Ferro em Brasa (2006);
Hóspedes da Noite [Night Lodgers] (2007);
Roofless (2008);
A Ilha dos Espíritos (2010);
Virgem Margarida [Virgin Margarida] (2012).