Xica da Silva

Director: Carlos Diegues
Countries: Brazil
Year: 1976
Running Time: 107 min.
Language: Portuguese


The story of legendary slave, Xica da Silva, who parlays a unique sexual talent into a rise to power that elevates her into the unofficial Empress of Brazil.

About the Director

Carlos Diegues

Biography: Carlos Diegues (born May 19, 1940 in Maceió, Alagoas, Brazil) studied law in Rio de Janeiro, whilst also running film clubs. He became a film critic and directed short films imbued with social realism. A pioneer of Cinéma Novo, in particular with Glauber Rocha, he sought to imprint Brazilian filmmaking on the national consciousness. His first feature films Ganga Zumba (1963) and A Grande Cidade (The Big City – 1966), spoke of his dream of a fairer world. He then went on to direct Os Herdeiros (1969), Joanna Francesa (1975) with Jeanne Moreau and Xica da Silva (1976) which ushered in a period of great popularity for Brazilian cinema, reinforced by the success of Summer Showers (1978) an Official Selection at Cannes Film Festival, as were Bye Bye Brazil (1979), Quilombo (1982) and Um Trem para as estrelas (Subway to the Stars – 1988). His exploration of popular culture continued with Veja esta Canção (1994) and Orfeu (2000). In 2006, he won the Best Film Award at the Montreal Festival, with The Greatest Love in the World.

(Source: http://www.festival-cannes.com/en/archives/artist/id/11258051.html)

Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Xica da Silva (1997);
Bye Bye Brazil (1979);
Quilombo (1997).

Fuga (1960);
Domingo (1961);
Cinco Vezes Favela (1962);
Ganga Zumba (1963);
A Grande Cidade [The Big City] (1966);
Os Filhos do Medo (1967);
Oito Universitarios (1967);
Os Herdeiros (1969);
When Carnival Comes (1972);
Joanna Francesca (1975);
Xica da Silva (1976);
Summer Showers (1978);
Bye Bye Brazil (1979);
Quilombo (1982);
Um Trem para as Estrelas [Subway to the Stars] (1988);
Better Days Ahead (1990);
Veja esta Canção (1994);
Tieta do Agreste (1996);
Orfeu (2000);
God is Brazillian (2003);
The Greatest Love in the World (2006);
No Reason Explains the War (2006)
Rio de fé (2013).