Robert Hutter and Ingrid Mwangi

Biography: Ingrid Mwangi was born in 1975 in Nairobi, Kenya. Robert Hutter was born in 1964 in Ludwigshafen, Germany. They both received New Artistic Media degrees from the University of Fine Arts Saar, Saarbrücken, and have received scholarships from the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, and residency scholarships of the Rhineland-Palatinate studio at the Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris. Mwangi’s work has been shown at the Museum for African Art, NY and the Bienal de Sao Paulo, amongst others. They have collaborated on works for several exhibitions including: Next Flag 1, The Casino Luxembourg Forum of Contemporary Art; Exhibition of Video Works Ingrid Mwangi and Robert Hutter, Center of Contempory Art of East Africa, GoDown Arts Center, Nairobi; and A Fiction of Authenticity: Contemporary Africa Abroad, Contemporary Art Museum, St. Louis. Mwangi and Hutter live in Ludwigshafen, Germany. Ingrid Mwangi works in a range of media, including video, installation, photography and performance art. Her works confront issues of race, identity and gender. Often using her body as subject, Mwangi explores her physicality, as well as issues of blackness and heritage, in relation to sociopolitical systems. She investigates identity in the context of personal experience and cultural positions on the foreign and exotic. Robert Hutter’s work centers on the body as an interface between self and society, using computer and performance techniques to investigate such themes as the virtual body.


Films Shown in AFF, Inc. Programs:
Digital Africa – Within a Shadow Lies What Will Fall (2003).

Appearance and Reality (1991);
First to Throw a Stone (1992);
Through the Wind (1993);
The Spirit Moves Where It Chooses (1993);
Summit of Creation (1994);
The Power of the Wound (1994);
The Inviolability of the Individual Freezes (1995);
Conversing Monitors (1996);
How Far Away Do You Have to Be (1996);
There Is Always No Reason (1996);
Messengers of Violence (1996);
Conversing II (1997);
How Deep Can You Sink (1997);
The Wild Audience (1997);
To Be Like Her (1997);
More Room (1998);
Breathe Out (1999);
Neger (1999);
Wild Life (1999);
Do Not Disturb (1999);
Masked (2000);
Virtual Body (2000);
Cross Over (2000);
Neger Don’t Call Me (2000);
Twelve Thoughts (2000);
Desperate for Change (2001);
My Heart of Darkness (2001);
Down by the River (2001);
Coloured (2001);
See in the Light (2002);
To Be in the World (2002);
See Violence (2002);
Travels of the Veiled (2002);
Dressed Like Queens (2003);
Cutting the Mask (2003);
Censored Rooms (2003);
Chameleon (2003);
Digital Africa – Within a Shadow Lies What Will Fall (2003);
Splayed (2004);
Fast Play (2005 – Robert Hutter, Ingrid Mwangi, Pascale Marthine Tayou);
Headskin (2005);
My Possession (2005);
Blood Poem (2006);
In My House (2006);
Man of War (2006);
For Children (2006);
Mzungu (2006);
Forward to Somewhere in Africa (2006);
Sleepers (2006);
Homesick (2006);
Being Bamako (2007);
Retrocession (2007);
Cryptic, a Traveler’s Diary (2007);
Retracing Johannesburg (2007);
Performance of Doubt (2007);
Window in the Desert (2007);
7 Sacred Moments (2008);
Beauty, in the Eye of the Beholder (2008);
Homeland (2008);
Human Walk (2008);
Triumph of her Death (2008);
Creepcreature (2009);
Eastleigh Crossing (2009);
Es’Gangeni (2009);
One Kenyans (2009);
The Cage (2009);
The Hum (2009);
Paradise: The Hidden Land (2011);
Power for Japan (2011);
Fairy Tale of the Black Mountain (2011);
Reviving the Fittest (2011);
Generationzzz (2012);
The View (2012);
Black Tree (2012);
Dandora Pool (2012).